Working From Home

My manager is very family oriented. She understands. She’s a mother too. This is why I am happy being a full-time working mummy. My boss understands. I can be with my son when I have/need/want to without feeling bad or getting penalised for it.

Australia is a very family oriented country and so it’s been part of the working lifestyle for most employers to be more understanding when it comes to staff with children.

Another privilege I have with the role I am in, is the ability to work from home when my son is sick.

While it’s a wonderful privilege to have, I feel bad for my son because I maybe home, and yes I am with him, but I can’t really give all my attention to him while I am suppose to be on the clock and doing working.

There’s also the constant need to prove that you’re actually doing work while home. Sending emails, replying to emails, chatting with co-workers about work online and even returning phone calls. It can be stressful.

So where do you draw the line? You want to have the best of both of worlds, but can you really? I guess to some extent.

I guess, we as parents, should decide where to draw the line: when to actually just take the day off to care for your sick child and when to work from home to care for a sick child. We know our kids better and our priorities. There shouldn’t be guilt associated with either of the choice, unless of course the privilege is being misused.

Personally, I am grateful that I am able to do this.  I am grateful to be able to drop everything and be with my son if needed.

Working mummies shouldn’t be shamed as well for working from home. Everything that we do for our family are all decisions made out of love. Love for yourself. Love for your kids. Love for your partner.

At the end of the day, we do what we can for our family

 

have a great weekend!

 

xo WCM

 

Leave a Reply

